top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturestraighttalk

Five Things Not To Say To Someone With Anxiety

Updated: Dec 6, 2019

Hey guys, it’s Sarah and it’s time for some straight talk. Anxiety is the most common disorder that Americans live with. How common exactly? Just under forty million individuals struggle day to day with the intense, emotionally distressing affects of Anxiety Disorder. If you’re one of these statistics, you know first hand how exhausting it can be. Often times, we are supported by family, friends, co workers, or a loved one. Having a good support system that you can rely on is very beneficial. On the hand, some individuals aren’t so lucky.* But whether you have a support system or not, I can almost guarantee you’ve been in this uncomfortable situation or one similar.

Let's set the scene. It’s finally Summer, and you are meeting up with your friends at the local coffeehouse.

As you catch up on the latest trends or whatever it is you neuortypicals like to talk about, your gal pal Kylie notices your lack of input and asks if something is wrong. “It’s nothing really. I’ve been stressed and anxious. I just- my parents are constantly asking when I’m going to fill out the college applications. It seems like that’s the only thing worth talking to me for. But truthfully, I’m not even sure if I want to be a college student. The pressure is really weighing me down and I’ve been having trouble sleeping. Dad wants me to become the doctor that he never was, while Mom just wants me out of the house. My true passion is painting and I just really don’t know what to do.” Let's pause for a moment. Do you know a supportive, sincere response to show your friend she’s not alone in her struggles? (comment below) If so, that’s awesome. We need more people like you. But here is what not to say to someone in a similar dilemma. (followed by some snarky responses you may or may not want to use, but I added because I’m a Scorpio) 5 Things Not To Say To Someone With Anxiety


1.) “You’re just worrying too much. That doesn’t mean you have anxiety.”

Yes, obviously I’m worrying, Karen. Also when did you get your phD in physiatrics?

2.) “It’s all in your head. Chill.” Sure, Chris. So, when we had to leave last night’s party because your blood sugar was low- Was that also all in your head?

3.) “Just think positive thoughts.”

Thanks, I’m cured.

4.) “Others have it far worse than you.”

Well, you’re not wrong. But that doesn’t mean my emotions are not valid.

5.) “I don’t believe in anti-anxiety medicine.”

I don’t believe that I care what you think.

These may seem like super obvious comments to avoid, but there’s nothing wrong with a little refresher. Look, whether your intentions are good or not, comments like these only makes things worse.



 

*If you or someone you know is struggling with anxiety on their own, reach out to Meetup.com to search for Anxiety Workshops in your area.

Or text 741741 to be connected via text to a trained crisis counselor. Crisis Text Line is a free service, 24/7.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page