top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturestraighttalk

Poem Entry

Updated: Jun 6, 2020

*Trigger Warning* - this poem includes sexual assault.

I’m fully convinced most men don’t know the meaning behind the word ‘no’ They hear it, but refuse to believe an 'inferior' gender actually says so

“Do you realize how lucky you are to have me?” He scoffs, as he picks up clothes off my floor. I give a half ass smile, only to distract myself from the pain of the night before.

Why is he still here? Am I that much of a coward to throw a man out of my own room? And when I say man, I do not mean a man, but a foul, tragic excuse of human existence. And dare I say his learned behavior of persistence comes from some sort off assistance. The apple does not fall far from the tree, this time.

What gave him the wild impression that my body was his crime?

Yes, I missed all the red flags, perhaps I can blame it on time.

But he was cunning as hell, and fast as enzymes

All I know is my heart is broken and the toxins are flowin’

My brain is on fire and my body is dire and I am tired

But I kept going back to him, always wanting more. He was the easiest drug I just happen to adore. Despite the bruises and screaming, I never left that war

My back aches more than usual

Yeah, reporting him may seem constitutional

But in my eyes, it’s delusional

Not because what he did to me is excusable

But I feel the past hours have physically aged me

And is his finger not tired from pushing the control key?

He used me, abused me, confused and disapproved me

But I’m the one left lying in the dirt

No soul to take, not one ounce to hurt

Because no sound is louder than the absolute silence of the nothingness that remains within my bones

Between my groggy eyes and him between my thighs, waking up to someone I thought I had trusted, instead he is now thrusting as I wake up to him taking full advantage of my body...

A body I thought he once loved, but now is merely an object

Dear Lord, I beg you. Please have mercy on me

Because he is now one of the 97 that is walking free


 

Text HOME to 741741 from anywhere in the United States, anytime, about any type of crisis. A live, trained Crisis Counselor receives the text and responds, all from our secure online platform.


49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page